Creeley

Reading Creeley, I feel Steiny frustrations, which I find exciting and extremely interesting.

Two of my favorite poem that I read this week of Creeley’s are “I Know A Man” and “The Language.

It is strange that my reading of either of these poems did not result in a new perspective on something of an “ah-ha” moment. I did not even come away with clear visions to pair with the poem’s setting.

But, what is amazing, is that, I felt much.

In I Know a Man, I feel the angst and lightheartedness of a late night conversation a friend. When the world is dark and quiet and you have that one friend that says “why don’t we drive to the beach right now and skip school tomorrow?” And you look at them like “no, just drive.” The feelings that Creeley pens in this poem are thick and rich and seemingly almost tangible. Having a feeling of angst while in a car, when your thoughts are just as the things that are revealing themselves and then immediately becoming smaller in your rear view mirror correlates so well.

In The Language, well…. I am not quite sure why it was one of my favorites. I think the mysterious feeling that was not your expected feeling from a poem that has “love” in it. How would someone go about locating “I love you”? “Between teeth and eyes”? Does or does love not originate from the teeth and eyes or both? But one line in The Language that I can concur completely is this: “Words say everything.”

I also must add that i enjoyed reading historical biographies of Mr. Creeley to find that he is from the east coast and has ties to North Carolina where my fiance and I will be honeymooning at this summer! How fun!

Leave a comment